malaysia palace of justice
Palace of Justice
July 26, 2014
malaysia berjaya times square
Berjaya Times Square
July 30, 2014
malaysia parliament

The Parliament Building of the Malaysian government is located in the heart of the capital in Kuala Lumpur. Located near to the Lake Gardens in the city, it was built on a hill which was once called the ‘West Folly Hill’. Construction of the building stared in 1961 which took 2 years to complete and the first Malaysian Parliament meeting was then held on the 16th of September 1963.

Building the Parliament house was the brainchild of Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj, the first prime minister of Malaysia and was then officiated by the third Yang Di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia, Tuanku Syed Putra Al-Haj Ibni Al-Marhum Syed Hassan Jamalullail where it consisted of the Main Block, the Tower Block and a Multipurpose Hall which are used for the Parliament sitting.

The design of the Parliament House was the works of William Ivor Shipley who was an Architectural Association School of Architecture in London’s graduate where his national service post was in Singapore during the 1950s where he eventually got selected to be involved in this project.

Designing the parliament house was a daunting task as it needed to exude stability and sovereignty through a layout which should not outdate. Through Shipley’s work, the Parliament house would be permanently imprinted into the Malaysian coins where his understanding of modernist architecture helped in providing the impression of confidence and stability. As such, the Parliament House continues to enthrall visitors to Kuala Lumpur who can view the building from afar and often been amazed by what the building symbolizes.